International Discussion Meeting on Polymer Crystallization 2017

– From Classical Systems to Functional Materials and Biopolymers

Sunday, September 17 – Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Wittenberg, Germany

AFM image showing semicrystalline PCL

Scope of IDMPC2017

The meeting continues the series of biennial meetings (Beijing 2011, Kyoto 2013, Honolulu 2015) aiming at a deeper understanding of the mechanisms of polymer crystallization, which was initiated by Prof. Gert Strobl, University of Freiburg in 1999. This time, it will take place at the Leucorea in Wittenberg, which is the oldest part of Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg/Germany from September 17–20, 2017. The meeting will be organized by the Collaborative Research Center TRR 102 “Polymers under multiple constraints”.

In addition to the classical topics of polymer crystallization the meeting will include two sessions on functional polymers and polymers of biological origin. In both of these neighboring fields partially crystalline structures play an important role. Whereas the relevance of semi-crystallinity is established for functional polymers, current research indicates common underlying physical principles also for partially ordered structures in synthetic and biopolymers.

New developments from experiment, theory and simulation will be presented in invited talks and posters. The meeting will provide ample time for discussion.

Program of IDMPC 2017 (online/pdf)

Flyer IDMPC 2017

Group photo of IDMPC 2017 at Leucorea in Wittenberg (Sept 19, 2017)

Important dates

  • March – Opening of abstract submission
  • April – Call for abstracts
  • April – Opening of registration
  • 18 May – Registration deadline
  • 14 June – Post registration deadline
  • 10 June – Abstract submission deadline

Organized by

Collaborative Research Center transregio 102 “Polymer under multiple constraints: restricted and controlled molecular order and mobility”

Advisory Board

  • Jochen Balbach (MLU, Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
  • Wolfgang Binder (MLU, Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
  • Wenbing Hu (Nanjing University, China)
  • Daniel Huster (Leipzig University, Germany)
  • Yongfeng Men (CAS Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, China)
  • Wolfgang Paul (MLU Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
  • Kay Saalwächter (MLU Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
  • Thomas Thurn-Albrecht (MLU Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
  • Akihiko Toda (Hiroshima University, Japan)